Chris Gayle, Darren Sammy Showdown To Kick Off Global T20!

A match up featuring West Indies stars and teammates Daren Sammy, Chris Gayle and Andre Russell will open the inaugural edition of Global T20 Canada as part of the schedule for the first professional Twenty20 cricket league in North America. Sammy’s Toronto Nationals will face Vancouver Knights with Chris Gayle and Andre Russell on June 28 in the first match of the 22-fixture schedule that will ultimately crown a champion on July 15 at Maple Leaf Cricket Club in King City, Ontario, just north of Toronto.

Other schedule highlights include Australian captain Steve Smith making his league debut in the opener with Toronto and squaring off against his country mate David Warner and Winnipeg Hawks on July 2. Canada Day long weekend will provide fans an opportunity to see all of the league’s marquee players with six matches over three days.

Six franchise teams will vie for the championship – Toronto Nationals, Vancouver Knights, Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Winnipeg Hawks and Cricket West Indies Representative Team, comprised entirely of players from the Caribbean.